Working Out

Well it seems we have another philosophical post. This blog will end up mirroring my experience figuring out what it means to be twenty. And I guess a lot of that is philosophical questions and deep thinking. Oops. Hopefully, dear readers- if anyone does actually read this- you will not mind too terribly much. Maybe my philosophical quandaries will actually be amusing. Anyhow, on with the post.

I spent a decent time in my childhood in art museums and galleries. My parents would love to look at western art and, not wanting to get a babysitter, would bring my brother and I along. Though I don’t have many memories of those early years, I’m sure I thought it was tedious. Just looking at art, standing what seemed like forever, and being told by every single paranoid adult there, “no touching”. But I’m proud to say my parents raised me on the principle that if you didn’t like something and couldn’t change your situation, you could always change your outlook. And I think that advice might’ve worked.

I recently found myself at the Passport to Paris exhibit at the Denver Art Museum just an hour away and I loved it. The exhibit featured expressionist artists like Monet, Manet, Degas, and Picasso. Pretty big names in the art world but I’ve never appreciated their expressionist work. What is expressionism anyways? It’s like painting with feelings and emotions and lacking technical skill. Sure, it produced Starry Night -arguably one of Van Gogh’s best works. But still, it’s … imprecise. But that was exactly the point of expressionism it turns out. Expressionism is a big deal because its the first time anyone painted with emotion and expression period. It’s the triumph of revolution in French cultural and political movements.

And that’s like working out?! Right?

… wrong.

Art and working out don’t have a lot of over lapse. First off, I love art and don’t really feel up to working out. However, if I teach myself to appreciate art, I can teach myself to appreciate working out. It’s hard. And it’ll kick my ass. And I’m really not looking forward to that burning feeling. But I know there is a lot about my body that I don’t know. And that the further I get the more I’ll learn to appreciate what I’m trying to do. And then eventually I’ll convince myself it’s worth it. Happy Friday all. Be good people do good things.